Lindenwood, Virginia Polytechnic on top in nationals crit

USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships continued on Saturday with four new national champions named in the D1 and D2 criteriums.


The D2 women lined up first and despite an early attack by Hannah Swan (Milligan College), the group was still together with 15 laps to go. Toward the end of the contest, Katherine Shields (Wake Forest) went off the front and grew her lead to 25 seconds while also collecting 42 prime points. She had a minute and a half on the field by the time she crossed the finish line for the gold medal.  Dessie Weigel (Whitman College) and Heidi Franz(Seattle University) followed in second and third, respectively.

Wake Forest USAC collegiate crit

The skies turned a bit cloudy as the D1 women lined up for their crit. They all stayed together for the first few laps, but then Kathryn Buss (Virginia Polytechnic University) and Janelle Cole (Brevard College) went off the front together and gained a gap of 45 seconds. Eventually, Buss pulled away from Cole as a hard-charging chase group of eight continued to try and bridge the gap. Buss gained 19 seconds over Cole and held her lead all the way to a Stars-and-Stripes jersey. Cole followed for second and Emma Swartz (Marian University) collected the bronze medal.


At the start of the men’s D2 event, a lead group of four formed, but by two laps to go it was a two-man race between Nolan Tankersly (East Tennessee State University) and Andrew Hemesath (Colorado School of Mines).  Tankersly ended up outsprinting Hemesath at the line to take his second national title in as many days while Phillip Kearns (University of Idaho) was third.

Nolan Tankersly crit collegiate

In the D1 race, there were many attacks including a late race attempt by Pablo Cruz (Midwestern State University) who took a flyer off the front and was then joined by Andrew Dillman (Marian University). The pair gained a 15-second gap but eventually found themselves back in the fold. In the end, Jonah Meadvancort (Lindenwood University) crossed the finish line victoriously while Dillman grabbed silver and Stefan Rothe (Midwestern State University) found the podium again with the bronze medal.

Men crit collegiate nationals

Individual omniums awarded on Saturday

With both the road race and criterium in the books, individual omnium winners were named on Saturday night. They are: Janelle Cole (Brevard College) for women’s D1, Stefan Rothe (Midwestern State University) for men’s D1, Heidi Franz (Seattle University) for women’s D2, and Nolan Tankersley (East Tennessee State University) for men’s D2. Complete individual omnium results can be found here.

Competition concludes on Sunday with the time trials. For live updates from Collegiate Nationals, follow clippedin on Snapchat, #collnats and @USACCollegiate on Twitter. You can also see the links below for more information.

Photo Gallery
Omnium Standings

Photos: Weldon Weaver/USA Cycling