Collegiate riders tackle time trial championships

Marian University and  Milligan College won the Divisions 1 and 2 team omniums as the USA Cycling Collegiate Road National Championships concluded on Sunday with the team and individual time trial events.

After a dominating performance in the team time trials on Sunday, Marian took the overall team award with 542 points compared to the 395 earned by runner up Fort Lewis College. In D2, Milligan earned 553 points to win ahead of second place Whitman College which amassed 315 points. See complete team omnium standings here.

Collegiate nats team omnium

Men’s Team Time Trials

The Colorado School of Mines posted a 41:04.7 to take the win for men’s D2 ahead of Milligan College and the US Military Academy. In D1, Marian University clocked the winning time of 37:28.2 ahead of Midwestern State University and Fort Lewis College.

University of Arizona’s men’s team, the only Southwest conference team for the team time trial, finished sixth with a time of 39:16.7.

Women’s Team Time Trials

Milligan College earned gold in the women’s DII event when its squad posted a 46:21.2 to beat out the silver and bronze medalist teams from MIT and Whitman College. Marian University again dominated the team time trial in the women’s D1 competition with a time of 43:39.6. Stanford University and The University of CaliforniaSan Diego were second and third, respectively.

Men’s Individual Time Trials

With 17 seconds to spare, Stefan Rothe (Midwestern State University) took the win in the DI men’s individual time trial with a time of 26:13.70. Michael Reidenbach (Virginia Polytechnic University) and Grant Koontz (Texas A&M) were second and third.

From the Southwest conference, UA’s Josh Pratt-Ferguson took eighth with a time of 27:25.40. Arizona State University’s Constantin Schreiber placed 11th with a time of 27:31.96 and Rhys Louis came in 20th with 28:22.01.

In the DII time test, Glenn Ferreira (University of Delaware) was fastest in a time of 27:22.60. Sam Fritz (University of Minnesota) and Kai Wiggins (Middlebury College) collected the silver and bronze.

Women’s Individual Time Trials

collegiate nats time trial women

Flora Yan (University of Texas at Dallas) clocked the fastest time in the women’s D2 individual time trial with a 29:56.49 to win the gold medal ahead of Clara Honsinger (University of Portland) and Katherine Shields (Wake Forest University)

The D1 women’s event was won by Kathryn Buss (Virginia Polytechnic University) in a time of 29:13. She beat out second- and third-place finishers Janelle Cole (Brevard College) and Antonina Hafner (Harvard University).

UA’s Erica Clevenger finished seventh with a time of 31:13.65, and ASU’s Tori Riemersma placed 14th with 32:41.35. Wildcat Shelby Hoglund clocked 33:40.47 for 19th.

The 2016 Collegiate Road Nationals are officially in the books! Read about day one of racing here, or read about day two here. You can also see more info with the links below.

Photo Gallery
Omnium Standings

Photos by Weldon Weaver/USA Cycling