Collegiate race wrap-up: UA still holds slight lead

Exciting action packed Arizona State University’s home race weekend, but after week No. 2 for the Southwest Collegiate Cycling Conference, not much has changed by way of results.

University of Arizona leads the overall team standings by 14 points over ASU, 379-365. The Wildcats’ David Greif, David Carlson and Joey Iuliano hold the top three spots for the Men’s A, while UA’s Erica Clevenger, Shelby Hoglund and ASU’s Alissa Albrecht round out the Women’s A category.

University of New Mexico, UA, ASU and Northern Arizona University and the U.S. Air Force Academy, who made the long trek all the way from Colorado Springs, Colo., battled it out in Fountain Hills Saturday for a circuit race and at historic ASU Gammage on Sunday for a crit.

McDowell Circuit Race

The McDowell Mountain Circuit Race took place on a 2-mile loop, raced like a lengthy crit, but was scored as a road race by points.

The Men’s C saw a large field similar to the previous weekend, and the podium was swept by ASU’s Andre Abreu, Aaron Ortega and Joshua Watts.

Both Women’s and Men’s B fields were smaller, but tactical racing still triumphed with the slight hill on the second half of the circuit. The Women’s B field stayed together until an attack on the last lap, won by Tori Riemersma (ASU) and followed closely by Cherry Niel (UA) and Oliva Boyer (UA). Men’s B saw several attacks as well and the podiums were claimed by Simon Lynn (USAFA), Castle Gay (NAU) and Scott Jones (ASU).

Racing combined with the Pro/1/2/3 field, the Women’s A field was quickly separated when Amy Chandos (NAU) broke from the collegiate pack to work with the pro field and claim first place. Megan Townsend (ASU) and Shelby Hoglund (UA) secured second and third in the finishing bunch sprint.

Similarly, the Men’s A field was also combined with Cat 2/3. Douglas Torres (UNM) and Josh Pratt-Ferguson immediately opened a gap, but soon the main pack caught Torres, and David Grief (UA) joined Pratt-Ferguson off the front as UA teammates suppressed the main pack. Grief and Pratt-Ferguson crossed the line together for first and second, and Constantin Schreiber (ASU) won the bunch sprint for third.

Sun Devil Criterium

Once again, the Men’s C field outnumbered any other collegiate category.

Several attacks and sustained breaks later, Victor Silva (ASU), Osama Wali (ASU) and Carl Patterson-Markowitz (UA) claimed spots on the podium. Simon Lynn (USAFA) once again powered his way to first place in the Men’s B race, followed by Simon Gertler (ASU) and Zachary Morrison (NAU).

Women’s A and B fields raced together, but saw no separation in the main field, even during prime laps. Amy Chandos (NAU) and Erica Clevenger (UA) remained on the front of the pack for most of the race, and eventually took first and second, followed by Megan Townsend (ASU). The final bunch sprint also brought in Tori Riemersma (ASU), Ellen Barry (USAFA) and Cherry Niel (UA) as the top three for Women’s B.

With a small field, the Men’s A race strung out over time, with pairs of riders working together, even from opposing schools. Ending in a small bunch sprint, Rhys Louis (ASU) took first, with Joseph Iuliano (UA) and Thomas Keating (ASU) close behind.

Photo by Ricardo Arduengo